It is vital to have a solid understanding of your rights as an employee in Pennsylvania. Regrettably, many workers’ rights are not respected by employers, in which case it is essential for those victims to look into the options in front of them (such as filing suit or filing a complaint with the state). Sometimes, employers do not abide by minimum wage regulations.
Hard-working staff members who do not receive the compensation they deserve often struggle from a financial and emotional point of view. Moreover, some employers use deceptive tactics to evade their commitments and cheat workers.
Minimum wage in Pennsylvania
On their site, the Department of Labor and Industry published a fact sheet on the Minimum Wage Act. In this act, employers in the state of Pennsylvania must pay employees at least $7.25 per hour for every hour they work. Furthermore, employers must compensate employees at a rate of 1.5 times their regular pay for any hours that exceed 40 hours in one workweek.
Minimum wage exemptions
Under the Minimum Wage Act, some workers are exempt from minimum wage and overtime pay. For example, some workers qualify for a professional, administrative or executive exemption. In order to qualify for an exemption, employees must satisfy a number of requirements, such as receiving a salary of at least $684 in pay each week and meeting other requirements related to job duties. Minimum wage violations affect workers of different ages and some workers are especially vulnerable. If your employer is not respecting your right to minimum wage pay, hold them answerable.